This is familiar.

I’m down to about 195 (ish) pounds now.  One of my pairs of jeans is in danger of falling off when I wear them, and I could have maybe gotten a smaller size when I went shopping the other day, if I wanted to spend the money.  (I think I’ll wash them instead, and hope they shrink enough.)  I went in The Limited on a whim and tried on a few shirts.  They didn’t look wonderful–a little too tight–but they fit.  I could actually get them on, which I’m sure I couldn’t have done earlier.  Obviously, something’s going right.

And yet none of this was enough to get me out of bed this morning the needed hour earlier to go to the gym.  Exercise?  Ugh.  Motivation:  I No Can Has.

I’ve never loved working out.  I don’t think I get that “exercise high” I’ve heard people going on and on about.  I guess I feel okay after I work out, but that knowledge never seems to be enough when that alarm goes off and I’m still sleepy and warm and comfy under my covers.

I don’t know what to do.

2 Responses to “This is familiar.”

  1. julie Says:

    Exercise so elevates my mood and mental state, keeps my depression at bay, that I would do it even if I didn’t have still weight to lose. I go after work, there’s no way I’d go in the mornings-too cold, too dark, I have to drink coffee before I can even consider eating, and I can’t go to the gym without breakfast. I go after work, around 6-8ish time, I like the classes, so I try to hit one or two of them every other day or so. It’s hard when I am busy, but it’s top priority, or gets fit in somehow. Maybe I’m hooked on endorphins-not bad for a lazy person such as I. I’m flexible about it-if I can’t get there, I’m biking everywhere, or taking the dog for a very long walk.

  2. Riayn Says:

    I used to hate exercising. I loathed it. It didn’t motivate me whatsoever. Then I started doing CrossFit (http://www.crossfit.com). It looks intimidating as hell when you first look at it, but go check out the scaled workouts. Every day’s workout is completely different. You are not going to the gym doing the same old, same old boring ass routine every day. I am loving the variety and the challenge. I am now addicted to it.

    You don’t have to do CrossFit, but the challenge is finding something that motivates you. I am taking up kickboxing next week (because I am insane), but again it is something I always wanted to do, but was too scared that I would be laughed at being the fat uncoordinated chick. Good luck finding a fitness routine that motivates you!

Leave a Reply

